History – Journey for Prescriptive Authority – Acknowledgements

1989 | 1990 | 1991 | 1992 | Acknowledgements

By Judy Collins, RN, MS, WHNP-BC, FAAN and Diane Hanna, RN, MS, FNP-BC

It took a multitude of people, politics, policymaking, passion and hard work to move Virginia forward to become the 35th state in the nation to enact Prescriptive Authority legislation. The following is a list, though not exhaustive, of some major players the journey that deserve special recognition:

  • Delegate Mary Marshall
  • Senator Elliott Schewel
  • Eva Teig, Secretary of Health and Human Resources
  • Deborah Oswalt, Deputy Secretary of Health and Human Resources
  • Lisa Baker, MD, Special Assistant to the Secretary of Health and Human Resources
  • Mark Rubin, VNA/VCNP lobbyist
  • Leslie Herdegen, VNA/VCNP lobbyist
  • Bernard Henderson, Director, Department of Health Professions
  • Richard Morrison, PhD, Executive Director, Board of Health Professions
  • Corrine Dorsey, RN, Executive Director, Board of Nursing
  • Clementine Pollok, RN, PhD, President, Board of Nursing
  • Members of the Task Force on the Practice of Nurse Practitioners and the Special Task Force on Prescriptive Authority
  • Members of the State Board of Health
  • Members of the Virginia Health Planning Board
  • The Joint Commission on Health Care for All Virginians
  • The Virginia Department of Health
  • Supportive Members of the General Assembly
  • All the Nurse Practitioners, Nurses, Nursing Organizations, Physicians, and Consumers that worked tirelessly to achieve the goal of Limited Prescriptive Authority to improve access, cost and quality of care to our patients and their families!!!

Events and Conferences