Please review the below FAQs regarding practice information for NPs in Virginia.
Q. Where can I get the current rules and regulations for nursing and advance practice nursing in Virginia?
A. Contact the Board of Nursing at 804-367-4515 or check their website at dhp.virginia.gov
Q. How do I find out about legislative issues and contacts in the individual regions?
A. Check the VCNP advocacy tab on the web page for information about the regional contacts, and to locate the legislative representative for your region.
Q. Whom do I contact about work related problems such as scope of practice?
A. Contact the Virginia Board of Nursing at 804-367-4515.
Q. Where can I get written information on Medicare reimbursement rules?
Q. I’m a CCC Plus Member/Provider. Whom should I contact with concerns regarding CCC Plus plans?
A. Please email the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) at firstname.lastname@example.org for help with rectifying unresolved CCC Plus plan issues. Please note: DMAS requests that you first attempt to rectify the issue by reaching out to and working with the plan directly, before utilizing this email address. Keep in mind that claims typically take 30 business days to be processed.
Q. How do I go about applying for prescriptive authority? Is it separate from licensure?
A. Yes, it is a separate application and costs $50. The paperwork can be obtained through the Virginia Board of Nursing. Applicants must hold a current, unrestricted license as a nurse practitioner in the Commonwealth of Virginia and provide evidence of the following:
- Continued professional certification as required
- Satisfactory completion of a graduate level course in pharmacology or pharmacotherapeutices obtained as part of their nurse practitioner program within 5 years prior to submission of application
- Practice as a nurse practitioner for no less than 1000 hours and 15 continuing education units related to the area of practice for each of the two years immediately prior to submission of the application, or thirty contact hours of education in pharmacology or phamacotherapeutics acceptable to the boards taken with five years prior to submission of application.
- The 30 contact hours may be obtained in formal academic setting as discrete or noncredit continuing education offering and shall include: applicable federal and state laws, prescription writing, drug selection, dosage and route, drug interactions, information resources and clinical application of pharmacology related to specific scope of practice.
Q. What is the collaborative ratio of doctors to nurse practitioners in Virginia?
Q. I am a nurse practitioner from another state. How do I obtain a license in Virginia?
A. First, contact the Virginia State Board of Nursing at 804-367-4515. You will need licensure as an RN and as an advanced practice nurse. After you complete the applications, you will need to contact your home state and have them send confirmation of your licensure.
Prescriptive authority is site specific. You will need to submit a practice agreement through the State Board of Nursing prior to obtaining prescriptive authority.
Q. How many contact hours are needed to recertify for licensure as a nurse practitioner?
A. Regulations 18 VAC 90 -30 -105 for NPs provides this guidance along with additional requirements for NPs with prescriptive authority, found as Regulation 18 VAC 90-40-55. You can access these from Virginia Department of Health Professions; Board of Nursing www.dhp.virginia.gov.
Q. How can I find out about local nurse practitioner meetings in my area?
A. The VCNP page has a list of the regions, officers and email addresses. Some of the regional events are also posted on the website.
Q. As a nurse practitioner, which organizations should I join?
A. As a professional, one should at least be a member of their nursing organization (VNA in Virginia) along with the specialty organization; the Virginia Council of Nurse Practitioners (VCNP).
Click here for additional information on Virginia’s Nurse Practitioner Licensing Requirements.